跳转至: 导航搜索

Ezhou (simplified Chinese: 鄂州; pinyin: Èzhōu) is a prefecture-level city in China's Hubei province.

Geography and Climate

Ezhou is located in southeastern Hubei province east of Wuchang, along the southern bank of the Yangtze River. It has a relatively small area of 1,504 km².


Ezhou has a long rich history. In the Eastern Han dynasty, it was given the name of "E". Its administrative region was changed several times but the name stayed the same until the Three Kingdoms. During the Three Kingdoms, it was made the capital of the Wu Kingdom by Sun Quan and was named Wuchang. Throughout China's history it has remained an important city politically, economically, and militarily with its strategic position along the middle part of the Yangtze River. It is also an important place in the history of the Pure Land Sect of Buddhism.


Ezhou has 3 districts.


  • Echeng (鄂城区)
  • Huarong (华容区)
  • Liangzhihu (梁子湖区)


Ezhou has a population of more than 1 million people.


Ezhou has 6 ports on the Yangtze including one than can handle up to 10,000 ton vessels. Many important rail lines and national highways cross through the area. It also has a large airport. This infrastructure make it a major logistics and distribution center. Important industries include metallurgy, construction materials, textiles, chemicals, and machinery.


Ezhou has several sites famous for their natural beauty. The West Hill is in the heart of the city and Lotus Hill is nearby. There are also three lakes, Liangzhi, Yanglang, and Honglian.

External links